This will be the 7th annual Tomography for Scientific Advancement (ToScA) symposium. Along with a broad, multidisciplinary range of applications, this year’s conference will include themes in biological (hard and soft) tissue imaging, understanding materials in 3D and recent advances in hardware and software tools.

Workshops will be taking place on Wednesday 11 September and the Symposium on Thursday 12 September & Friday 13 September 2019.

This international symposium will consist of keynote speakers, talks and poster presentations from both academia and industry, and an image competition. The symposium is designed to foster open discussion, networking, and collaborative opportunities between domains of expertise in academia, commercial users, and software and hardware providers.
Attend Conference

Symposium Chair

Dr Farah Ahmed

Exponent International
Farah received a BSc in Biomaterials Engineering and a PhD in Biophysics from Queen Mary University of London. Farah studied the three-dimensional structure of pathological bone using Micro-CT during her time as a PhD researcher. Following a short research position at the school of Medicine and Dentistry at QMUL, she managed the X-ray CT facility at the Natural History Museum in London, working on over 100 CT related projects a year across all science disciplines.

Currently she works as an engineering consultant at Exponent, utilising her extensive experience in fracture mechanics, multi-scale failure, and material selection, with a focus on biomaterials, implant design, and interfaces within joint implants..

Symposium Co-Chair

Phillip Schneider

University of Southampton
Dr Philipp Schneider is Associate Professor within Engineering and Physical Sciences at the University of Southampton. Philipp joined the Bioengineering Science Research Group at the Faculty of Engineering and the Environment in September 2013. His particular interests are around bone structure and function, particulalry with experimental computational bone mechanics at the cell level.

Local Organising Committee

University of Southampton

Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences
Dr Philipp Schneider
Prof Ian Sinclair
Dr Philip Basford
Dr Richard Boardman
Dr Orestis Katsamenis
Dr Mark Mavrogordato
Dr Katy Rankin
Dr Pierre Thibault

Faculty of Medicine:
Dr Peter Lackie
Dr Anton Page
Dr Jane Warner